Guide ANF - Records of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk

Identity area

Reference code



Records of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk


  • 1560-1989 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

22 series

Context area

Name of creator


Administrative history

In the Diocese of Norwich. Until 1894 the Archdeaconry of Norfolk comprised the Deaneries of Brooke, Cranwich, Depwade, Fincham, Heacham, Hingham, Humbleyard, Redenhall, Repps, Rockland and Waxham. In 1894 the boundaries were redrawn and the Archdeaconry of Lynn was created, the Archdeaconry of Norfolk thereafter comprised the Deaneries of Brooke, Depwade, Hingham, Humbleyard, Loddon, Redenhall and Rockland. Lothingland was added in 1914.

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Records received from three sources. To the original deposit of 1939 have been added records found by T.F. Barton in or before 1963 while sorting the Diocesan Archives, and records received in 1971, 1972 and 1978 from Messrs Hansell, Stevenson & Co., the Norwich solicitors and registrars to the Archdeaconry.

Content and structure area

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

For some Archdeaconry of Norfolk terriers, 1735-1809, see ANW 15/11.

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Rules and/or conventions used




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places