Series KL/TC 10 - Poll books, Electoral Registers and Burgess Rolls

Identity area

Reference code

KL/TC 10


Poll books, Electoral Registers and Burgess Rolls


  • 1834-1921 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

51 volumes, 22 gatherings

Context area

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

King's Lynn was a Parliamentary Borough, returning two MPs, until 1918, when it became part of Norfolk County Council King's Lynn Division (later North West Norfolk Division).

Poll books for Parliamentary and municipal elections, 1835-1854:

Electoral registers, 1834-1921

Burgess rolls (registers of voters entitled to vote in municipal elections, and from 1890 in County Council elections), 1835-1915.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

The main series of Parliamentary electoral registers, formerly in the custody of the Town Clerk, is held by King's Lynn Library.

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used



Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion

Created 19/11/2012 by Drosm. Modified 26/09/2018 by Drv06.


Accession area