Fonds ANW 30 - Archdeaconry of Norwich: Other Jurisdictions

Identity area

Reference code

ANW 30


Archdeaconry of Norwich: Other Jurisdictions


  • 1598-1852 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

24 pieces

Context area

Name of creator


Administrative history

In the Diocese of Norwich. Until 1894 the Archdeaconry of Norwich comprised the Deaneries of Blofield, Breccles, Brisley, Flegg (including Gt Yarmouth), Holt, Ingworth, Lynn (including King’s Lynn), Lynn Marshland, Norwich, Sparham, Taverham, Thetford, Toftrees and Walsingham. In 1894 the boundaries were re-drawn and the Archdeaconry of Lynn was created, the Archdeaconry of Norwich thereafter comprised Blofield, Flegg, Holt, Ingworth, Norwich, Repps, Sparham, Taverham and Waxham.

Archival history

Found with the Norwich Archdeaconry records, probably having been acquired during administration or by the movement or sharing of officials. A number of Suffolk Archdeaconry records were also found as the same firm of solicitors were long registrars of both the Suffolk and the Norwich Archdeaconries. These have been returned, save material in ANW 7/2, ANW 22/7-8, 10-11 and ANW 27/1 which cannot be physically detached.

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Rules and/or conventions used




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places