Fonds ANW 10 - Archdeaconry of Norwich: Churchwardens' Declarations

Identity area

Reference code

ANW 10


Archdeaconry of Norwich: Churchwardens' Declarations


  • 1835-1948 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

25 gatherings, 1 bundle, 1 paper, 1 volume

Context area

Name of creator


Administrative history

In the Diocese of Norwich. Until 1894 the Archdeaconry of Norwich comprised the Deaneries of Blofield, Breccles, Brisley, Flegg (including Gt Yarmouth), Holt, Ingworth, Lynn (including King’s Lynn), Lynn Marshland, Norwich, Sparham, Taverham, Thetford, Toftrees and Walsingham. In 1894 the boundaries were re-drawn and the Archdeaconry of Lynn was created, the Archdeaconry of Norwich thereafter comprised Blofield, Flegg, Holt, Ingworth, Norwich, Repps, Sparham, Taverham and Waxham.

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Received by the Norfolk Record Office on 7 September 1981 (numbered ANW 10/28).

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Years 1835-1887,1936-1948 only. Declarations for due performance of office. These also occur on the visitation presentments from Easter 1846.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

See also list DN/VCD.

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Rules and/or conventions used




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places